The Fair Housing Act (FHA) was part of the federal Civil Rights Act of 1968. The original language in the FHA prohibited discrimination in the sale, rental and financing of dwellings in housing-related transactions based on race, color, national origin and religion. The FHA was amended twenty years later, in 1988, to prohibit discrimination on the basis of disability or familial status, and to require accessible units in multifamily developments built after 1991.

Developments exempted from the FHA include: housing developments for seniors, housing strictly reserved for members of religious organizations or private clubs, and multifamily housing of four units or less with the owner occupying one unit.

Do you think you have faced housing discrimination or unfair treatment? These links can help you get information about what to do.

Fair Housing Information from the City of Austin and Travis County

Local Fair Housing Organizations

Austin Tenant’s Council | (512) 474-1961

Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid | (800) 369-9270

State Fair Housing Resources

Texas Workforce Commission – Civil Rights Division – Employment and Housing Discrimination | (888) 452-4778

Fair Housing Resources

US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) – Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (FHEO) | (800) 669-9777

HUD – Fair Housing Regional Office – Fort Worth (817) 978-5965